My journey towards technical writing

My journey towards technical writing

ยท

2 min read

Hello everyone ๐Ÿ‘‹ I'm Karthikeyan and in this blog post, I would like to share my journey towards technical writing.

This blog post is part of the first writing prompt of Hashnode bootcamp.

Interesting Fact: This is my first non-technical article. I will try my best to not make this read boring.

Here goes,

Who Am I ?


{
    name: "Karthikeyan Shanmugam",
    work: "Front end Engineer @ Granicus",
    languages: 'Javascript, Python',
    hobbies: 'Blogging, Gaming',
    social: [
        { github: 'https://github.com/skarthikeyan96' },
        { twitter: 'https://twitter.com/karthik_coder'},
        { linkedin: 'https://www.linkedin.com/in/karthikeyan-s-4a13608a/' },
        { instagram: 'https://www.instagram.com/karthi.codes/'}
    ],

}

How did I get started?

I got the opportunity to write and publish my first blog back in 2018. I had no idea on how to choose the blogging platform or for that case I had no idea how to write an blog. I spent 2-3 hrs daily after work and do research on the topic, read other blog posts written by the developers. I was able to learn a lot in that duration. It took total of 2 weeks to get to the finish line.

Below is the link to first blog which I wrote and published around Mar 19 , 2018

https://medium.com/beginners-guide-to-mobile-web-development/a-guide-to-google-material-design-977315149ea5

I was writing for while on medium, before I got to know about other blogging platforms. Finally landed in hashnode which I have been loving ever since.


Learnings

One thing I understood after publishing my first article was I wanted to do write more often.

Why ?

  1. When you write about a particular topic which you have learnt , understanding on the topic will be more clearer for the reader and writer.

  2. When you write about a bug which you have solved in detailed steps and in future when other developer faces the same issue and if they come across the blog that would be very useful.

  3. When you pick a niche and write more blogs about it. It increases your credibility on that particular niche.

  4. You will get to document your learning journey.


What are my goals as a writer?

Though I started out to write blogs from 2018 , I tried my best to be consistent , but that was not good enough.

Hence my goal is to be consistent and write at least 2-3 articles per week.

Conclusion

Thank you for reading till the end.

Thank you Hashnode for organising the bootcamp and give me the opportunity to share my journey.

Stay Safe and Happy coding :)